Home > error, ubuntu > Ubuntu Recovery mode with internet connection and read write filesystem

Ubuntu Recovery mode with internet connection and read write filesystem

I’ve upgraded my box to a fresh Gnome Ubuntu 14.10 install. After installing some packages, and rebooting several times, I faced an error when rebooting and I cannot start the system.

I tryed the recovery option, but my system was unable to start in graphics mode, I can only get into a sudo console.

I was pretty sure that is a package recently installed that crashed my system. So I entered in a sudo console in recovery mode.

This console mounts the / filesystem in read-only mode. I needed to update the packages installed, so I also need a network connection in recovery mode. Here’s how I get it done:


mount -o remount, rw /

ifconfig eth0 up

dhclient eth0

First command is to mount the / filesystem in read write option (obviously). The second command raises up the ethernet device, and the third one sets an IP to the eth0 device using DHCP.
Then, I was able to recover my system with a dist-upgrade:


apt-get dist-upgrade

Do you have the same problem? Please, leave your comments below.

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

