Home > virtual box > VirtualBox Error: “ahci-0-0″ (rc=VERR_DISK_FULL)”

VirtualBox Error: “ahci-0-0″ (rc=VERR_DISK_FULL)”

I’ve installed Windows 7 on VirtualBox (Ubuntu host) and when I start the machine I get this error:

Disk full

The error message is this:


An error has occurred during virtual machine execution! The error details are shown below. You may try to correct the error and resume the virtual machine execution.


The I/O cache encountered an error while updating data in medium "ahci-0-0" (rc=VERR_DISK_FULL). Make sure there is enough free space on the disk and that the disk is working properly. Operation can be resumed afterwards.

Details:
Error ID:   BLKCACHE_IOERR
Severity:   Non-Fatal Error

I thought it was the VirtualBox’s vdi hard disk drive that was full, but it was much easier. Just a “df -h” and I realized that my host disk was full!

Categories: virtual box Tags: ,
  1. Pushi
    December 2, 2016 at 11:14

    i am so stupid, i ran into the same problem and searched for it because i thought the vm was talking about the vm and not about my host.

    thx for your blogpost

    Like

  2. January 7, 2013 at 23:40

    You’re welcome, Johann. At least I’m not the only one this happens ;-D

    Like

  3. Johann
    January 7, 2013 at 19:31

    Thanks! I had the same issue and was confused because my guest’s vdi had plenty of space. Stinking SSD’s and their small size!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

