Home > ubuntu > Howto change the locale in ubuntu

Howto change the locale in ubuntu

I’ve been testing different locales on my ubuntu 10.10 64 bits.

I installed this locale:

</pre>
<pre>$ sudo locale-gen ca_ES.ISO-8859-1

Then I assigned my locale to

$ export LC_ALL ca_ES.iso885915@euro

I did also other things that I can’t remember to configure the locales 😉

After some days testing, I wanted to restore my original locale ca_ES.UTF8 but it has been a little bit difficult.

Finally, I’ve solved it issuing this:

$ sudo locale-gen ca_ES.UTF-8
$ sudo update-locale LC_ALL="ca_ES.utf8"

Checked that my locale envvars are ok, and then reboot. Buff!

Categories: ubuntu Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

